License Disclosure

Carle Illinois College of Medicine’s Doctor of Medicine (MD) program has provisional accreditation by the Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME). Carle Illinois thereby meets the academic requirements for state and US territory medical licensure. While enrolled at Carle Illinois, MD students are required to complete the following examinations: United States Medical Licensing Examination (USMLE) Step 1 and Step 2 Clinical Knowledge (CK). The USMLE Step 3 examination is taken during postgraduate residency training. Students must pass all USMLE Step exams and postgraduate residency training in order to be eligible for licensure. Individual states and territories also have established 1) minimum postgraduate training requirements, 2) the number of times each USMLE exam may be attempted, and 3) time limits for completing licensure examinations. These state and territory requirements can be found on their respective licensing body websites.

State/Territory Licensing Entity
Alabama Alabama Board of Medical Examiners
Alaska Alaska State Medical Board
American Samoa American Samoa Health Services Regulatory Board
Arizona Arizona Medical Board
Arkansas Arkansas State Medical Board
California Medical Board of California
Colorado Colorado Medical Board
Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands CNMI Board of Professional Licensing / Health Care Professions Licensing Board
Connecticut Connecticut Medical Examining Board
Delaware Delaware Board of Medical Licensure and Discipline
District of Columbia District of Columbia Board of Medicine
Florida Florida Board of Medicine
Georgia Georgia Composite Medical Board
Guam Guam Board of Medical Examiners
Hawaii Hawaii Medical Board
Idaho Idaho Board of Medicine
Illinois Illinois Division of Professional Regulation
Indiana Medical Licensing Board of Indiana
Iowa Iowa Board of Medicine
Kansas Kansas State Board of Healing Arts
Kentucky Kentucky Board of Medical Licensure
Louisiana Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners
Maine Maine Board of Licensure in Medicine
Maryland Maryland Board of Physicians
Massachusetts Massachusetts Board of Registration in Medicine
Michigan Michigan Board of Medicine
Minnesota Minnesota Board of Medical Practice
Mississippi Mississippi State Board of Medical Licensure
Missouri Missouri Board of Registration for the Healing Arts
Montana Montana Board of Medical Examiners
Nebraska Nebraska Board of Medicine and Surgery
Nevada Nevada State Board of Medical Examiners
New Hampshire New Hampshire Board of Medicine
New Jersey New Jersey State Board of Medical Examiners
New Mexico New Mexico Medical Board
New York New York State Board for Medicine
North Carolina North Carolina Medical Board
North Dakota North Dakota Board of Medicine
Ohio State Medical Board of Ohio
Oklahoma Oklahoma State Medical Board of Licensure and Supervision
Oregon Oregon Medical Board
Pennsylvania Pennsylvania State Board of Medicine
Puerto Rico Puerto Rico Board of Medical Licensure and Discipline
Rhode Island Rhode Island Board of Medical Licensure and Discipline
South Carolina South Carolina Board of Medical Examiners
South Dakota South Dakota Board of Medical and Osteopathic Examiners
Tennessee Tennessee Board of Medical Examiners
Texas Texas Medical Board
Utah Utah Physicians and Surgeons Licensing Board
Vermont Vermont Board of Medical Practice
U.S. Virgin Islands Virgin Islands Board of Medical Examiners
Virginia Virginia Board of Medicine
Washington Washington Medical Commission
West Virginia West Virginia Board of Medicine
Wisconsin Wisconsin Medical Examining Board
Wyoming Wyoming Board of Medicine